Skip to Sub-menu

Awards & Honors

Fatin Asnan

University of Missouri Graduate Professional Council Research Development Award (Faculty mentor: Mansoo Yu) $550

Marilyn Coleman Alumni Graduate Scholarship in HDFS

2021 SRCD Strategic Plan Poster Winner – International Research

Mizzou Identity Brand Wagon Winner

Dr. Fiorella L. Carlos Chavez

Dr. Fiorella L. Carlos Chavez has been nominated by her students for the Undergraduate Researcher “Mentor of the Year” award. Office of Undergraduate Research. University of Missouri.

Dr. Fiorella Carlos Chavez will take on the position of Professional Development Chair in the Fall, 2019 for the MU Postdoctoral Association (MUPA). University of Missouri.

Role: Professional Development Chair
Term: Fall 2019-Spring 2020

Dr. Fiorella L. Carlos Chavez was awarded a Margaret Mangel Research Catalyst award from the College of Human Environmental Sciences for her project titled, “Exploring Adult-Like Behaviors and Experiences of Migrant Youth in the U.S. Midwest: Stress, Coping, and Resilience among Latino/a and African Immigrant Youth.”

The Society for Research on Child Development (SRCD) awarded Dr. Fiorella L. Carlos Chavez with the 2019 Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award for her dissertation research work titled, “Family decisions, stressors, and health challenges among Latino emancipated migrant farmworker youth: A mixed-methods approach.” And the SRCD Latino Caucus has also awarded Dr. Carlos Chavez with the 2019 Dissertation Award. The award’s committee was particularly impressed with your study’s conceptual and methodological rigor. They believed your dissertation supported the overall mission of the SRCD Latino Caucus which is to promote conceptually and methodologically rigorous research conducted with Latino children, youth, and families that represents their (1) diversity, (2) normative development, and (3) inherent strengths (e.g., cultural, linguistic). To top these great accomplishments, The Society for Research on Child Development has elected Fiorella L. Carlos Chavez as the Student & Early Career Representative on the Equity and Justice Committee. With this position, she will also serve on the Student Early Career Council (SECC), a service position with SRCD that spans four years, beginning in 2019 and ending in 2023.

Youngsook Han

Youngsook Han received the best poster paper award at the Korean Association of Child Studies, Seoul, South Korea.

Sahitya Maiya

Sahitya Maiya received Ruth Cook Scholarship, and Graduate Professional Council Conference Presentation Travel Award.

Madi Memmott-Elison

2020-2021 Distinguished Graduate Research Award, University of Missouri, $1,000.

2020-2021 Marilyn Coleman Alumni Graduate Scholarship for Excellent Continuing Students, University of Missouri, $600.

Madi Memmott-Elison received University-wide Gamma Alpha Gamma Dissertation Year Fellowship, University of Missouri.

Marixza Torres

Marixza Torres (affiliated graduate student) received the honorable mention from the 2020 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program. She also received the 2019-2020 Eastern Washington University Frances B. Huston Medallion Award for the College of Social Sciences.

Dr. Mansoo Yu

Dr. Mansoo Yu received the 2019 Distinguished Research Award from the MU College of Human Environmental Sciences.

Dr. Mansoo Yu was inducted into the Delta Omega Public Health Honorary Society, founded by the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health in 1924, to be recognized for his achievements in public health research and engagement.